This is my audition blog for the 2016 Graphic 45 Design Team. Hooray! So this blog is three small projects (your own decorative paper, tags and ATCs) that I have combined into making one large project (a mini album) that there is a tutorial for. Ok, there is pretty much a tutorial for all of it. LOL Hope you enjoy it and make your own 6 1/2 x 6 inch custom mini album with your favorite things.

My favorite things? My Graphic 45 vintage couture stamps and my vibrant colored Dylusions paints. Now you might think these things can not go together, but I mean to prove they do. If for no other reason, than I love them! 

Here we go!

What do you need?

-Paper cutter, 8 1/2 x11 cardstock (black and white), 12×12 black cardstock (optional), glue (I used ATG gun), vibrant colors of paint (I used the 9 original colors of Dylusions), Stamps (I used the vintage courture, spring blossoms, grimm fairtytale stamps from Graphic 45), black permanent ink pad (I used jet black stazon), diamond glaze (optional), bubblegum pink archival ink (optional), photo printer paper (optional), a feather (optional), scissors, recycled cardboard (I used part of a cereal box), and a binder (I used the zutter bind-it-all). 

  
Whew! That seems like a lot! But you can do substitutions for most things for something you have. 

The first video is making the base pages (all of the blue words are the links for each video they discribe) of the book. You can have as many pages as you like just remember to use a sprial binder that is twice again as thick so your pages have room to grow as the book is used. You want plenty of room for pictures, tags, tuck ins and embellishments as you use it.

There are three page types:  a 6 1/2 x 6 full pocket page (using the 12 x 12 cardstock), a side fold page, and a bottom fold page (both using the 8 1/2 x 11 cardstock). 

Full pocket page: cut the 12 x 12 cardstock to 6 12 x 12 and fold in the center to form the pocket. Glue one side closed and punch the other side for your spiral binding. The top is open for your pocket. I do usually punch a half circle in the one side of the pocket to make it easier to see and open. (all this is in the video).

Side fold page: Cut the letter size cardstock to 6 1/2 x 11 and fold the 11 inch side at 6 inches.Punch the 6 1/2 inch side for your binding. This page can become several different designs as you will see in the video.

  
Bottom fold page: Cut the letter size card stock to 6 x 11 inches and fold the 11 inch side at 6 1/2 inches. Punch the 6 1/2 inch side for your binding. See the video for ideas on how to use this page.

  
The second video is making the decorative paper. This is an easy yet time consuming project. For my book I did 9 sheets of this decorative paper. One in each of the original Dylusions paint colors.

  
I used several Graphic 45 stamp sets to fill these pages but primarily I used the vintage set from the couture line seen below.

  
Here is what your finished custom decorative paper looks like.

  
Video 3 is assembling your pages. This is easier watched than typed. 

Video 4 is building the cover. It is cutting recycled cardboard (cereal box for example) to size and covering it with your black cardstock. I made the cover the same size as my pages. That is personal preference. you can always make your cover a little larger if you prefer. 

Video 5 is decorating the cover. Decorating a cover is extremely personal. I will show you how I did mine but make yours reflect you. This is really the place to have fun with this project. Go to your craft hoard and find more of your favorite things to use. If they aren’t the right color,as my flowers weren’t here, see if you can paint them. Be creative! Have fun! 

  
Video 6 is making the tags and ATCs for your mini album. I made simple ones that can be used for journaling and adding personal pictures and souvenirs to, but remember that tags and ATCs are really jusbt small canvases. You can make them as plain or lavish as you like. 

  
  
Here is a more artsy one I have made. Just for inspiration. 😉 

  
Video 7 is a flip through of all the pages and how the tags and ATCs fit into it. But here are some stills as well.

                              
I hope you have enjoyed this! If you want to follow all my heart you can on my facebook art page: Mickie’s Niche

Craftiness is what’s on,

Mickie’s Mind!

P.S. I didn’t do a tutorial for the binding as all of the binding machines are different. Follow the directions for your particular machine. 

