I am applying to be a member of the SinCity Stamps Design Team. This got me to thinking about the versatility of stamps and just how useful they are to any crafter. So that is what is on Mickie’s Mind today.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/76c/74588224/files/2014/12/img_2154-1.jpg

Never heard of SinCity Stamps? Check them out at http://www.sincitystamps.com/ or check out their blog at http://www.sincitystamps.blogspot.com/ and, of course, they are on Facebook at SinCity Stamps Facebook page.

Fingers crossed I make the team! Now, onto our topic!

What can you do with a stamp?

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/76c/74588224/files/2014/12/img_2138-1.png

What probably comes to mind first is card-making or scrapbooking as those are the most popular answers. These were stamped with StazOn permanent ink and then colored in with watercolor pencils.

But stamps can do so much more!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/76c/74588224/files/2014/12/img_2142-0.png

Did you realize you can make jewelry with your stamps? I have pictured dominoes that I stamped, heat set, colored with alcohol ink markers, heat set and then coated with diamond glaze. Add a bail or wire-wrap it, as I did to one of these, and you have an adorable pendant.

You can also press them into polymer clay, trim them to your desired shape and size, punch a hole with any pointed object and bake as directed for a pendant.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/76c/74588224/files/2014/12/img_2139.png

I love to make diary style journals personalized for myself or friends with stamps. I have several pictured that I have made. I stamp the images on card stock if I want a raised image and directly onto the surface for a background image. I use the on the inside cover as well as the outside cover and stamp the bottom right corners of the pages for a daily treat as the journal is used.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/76c/74588224/files/2014/12/img_2160.png

I also love to use stamps in my art journaling. Sometimes as the focal image and sometimes as background images to give my piece more depth.

Here I used gelatos to make a colorful background, blending the colors into one another with a baby wipe. (See my previous blog on “Upcycling! Trash to Treasure: Baby Wipes) then I used a large bubble stamp and hot pink StazOn ink to stamp interest into the background. Finally I used black StazOn and some of my favorite stamps for this montage foreground. I think it is fun and, because I picked stamps that I like, distinctly me.

Text stamps are a lifesaver for me because lettering is not my strong suit. 😉

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/76c/74588224/files/2014/12/img_2159.png

Are you a letter writer? Stamps on the envelope will brighten the receiver’s day before they even open it.

I made this envelope to send Happy Mail (art ephemera to another artist) to a friend. I used blue paint and a Art Deco flower stamp for the first layer then I applied red acrylic paint and glazing medium to my gel plate to get a see through layer of red. I used my gel plate so I could tell when it was sheer enough. I applied the paint to my envelope by placing it face down on the gel pate and rolling it out with my brayer. Once the paint was dry I stamped images onto the top layer with black StazOn. Won’t my friend be surprised to find this envelope in with her bills?!

So look around your craft supplies and make sure you are using those stamps to their full potential. Stamps have as many uses as you can imagine! And I can imagine a lot.

Happy Crafting!

And that is what is on

Mickie’s Mind

Note: There is a lot in this blog! Want more information on any one of these projects? Leave me a comment and I will do another post on just that project later. Thanks for reading my blog!!!

