I am part of several art groups. One of them has a challenge this month to do the Crayon Resist technique. There are several video tutorials on this on YouTube but it is simply using a cheap white crayon to put down a layer of wax on your paper before adding a water based ink. The ink doesn’t adhere as well to the wax and leaves a lighter shade in those areas.

My tip: I found that, once you have finished your piece, if you take a plastic card and scrap away the top layer of wax your contrast is much brighter!

On my pictured project I used three rubber stamps, pink StazOn permanent ink for the stamped images, a cheap white crayon to cover the areas I wanted to stay white (in the top of the picture are two I did with an oil pastel white crayon-you can see it did not work as well), worn lipstick and vintage phot distress inks to cover the background, and my used gift card to scrap off the top layer of wax when I was done.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/76c/74588224/files/2015/01/img_2182.png

Happy Creating!

And that is what’s on

Mickie’s Mind

